Basilika St. Martin in Amberg2018-10-17T15:13:04+00:00

Project Description

BASILIKA ST. MARTIN IN AMBERG

GLASS PROTECTS ANTIQUE GLASS PAINTINGS AT THE BASILICA ST. MARTIN IN AMBERG

Safety and energy efficiency through laminated glass from Sollingglas

After extensive restoration work to preserve the historical character of the Basilica of St. Martin in Amberg, Bavaria, the four restored tracery windows now shine in full splendour again.

In autumn 2017 we were asked to produce a laminated glass from mouth-blown antique glass as a protective glazing to protect the colour and plasticity of the windows of the late Gothic church on the market square side from environmental influences, lost New Year’s Eve rockets and vandalism.

The irregular structures of the strongly structured antique glass used are challenging in the lamination of the foils, as it is supposed to retain the old character of the ancient glass paintings in the exterior view.

For this purpose, we have connected the facing shell of 2 to 3 millimetre thin, precisely cut antique glass with a maximum size of 60 x 90 centimetres with a float glass using foils, whereby a defined residual elasticity is present.

In accordance with the specifications, all the attachment panes for the four large windows with the tracery were delivered on schedule within four weeks. The custom windows now serve as patterns for the remaining windows, which are also to be restored.

The Basilica of St. Martin of the Catholic parish in Amberg is located in the Bavarian diocese of Regensburg. The church on the south side of the market square was built from 1421 in late Gothic style as a three-nave hall church with a common roof. A wreath of 19 chapels surrounds the church, which are closed off from the top by a common gallery. The building form of St. Martin served as a model for many churches in the Saxon building area.

After damage caused by bombardment during the War of the Spanish Succession in 1703 – when the old stained-glass windows broke – the church received precious Baroque furnishings. The present stained-glass windows and neo-Gothic furnishings were restored at the end of the 19th century. Since 2003 a comprehensive renovation has been in progress; the roof truss and roof were completed in 2009, foundation and tower in 2017.

Basilika St. Martin in Amberg 2018-04-30T11:47:19+00:00

Project Description

Basilika St. Martin in Amberg

Vorsatzverglasung schützt altertümliche Glasmalereien an der Basilika St. Martin in Amberg

Sicherheit und Energieeffizienz durch Verbundglas von Sollingglas

Nach umfangreichen restauratorischen Arbeiten, die den historischen Charakter der Basilika St. Martin im bayerischen Amberg erhalten sollen, erstrahlen nun auch die vier restaurierten Maßwerkfenster wieder in voller Pracht.

Die hierfür im Herbst 2017 an uns gerichtete Anforderung war, aus mundgeblasenem Antikglas ein Verbundglas als Vorsatzschutzverglasung herzustellen, um das Fensterbild der spätgotischen Kirche zur Marktplatzseite hin an Farbe und Plastizität auch dauerhaft vor Umwelteinflüssen, verirrten Silvesterraketen und Vandalismus zu bewahren.

Herausfordernd bei der Folienlamination sind die unregelmäßigen Strukturen des verwendeten stark strukturierten Antikglases, das in der Außenansicht den alten Charakter der altertümlichen Glasmalereien erhalten soll.

Die Vorsatzschale aus 2 bis 3 Millimeter dünnem, präzise zugeschnittenem Antikglas mit einer maximalen Größe von 60 mal 90 Zentimetern haben wir hierfür über Folien mit einem Floatglas verbunden, wobei eine definierte Restelastizität vorhanden ist.

Entsprechend der Vorgabe sind alle Vorsatzscheiben für die vier großen Fenster mit dem Maßwerk termingetreu innerhalb von vier Wochen geliefert worden. Die Maßfenster dienen nun als Muster für die restlichen Fenster, die ebenfalls restauriert werden sollen.

Die Basilika St. Martin der katholischen Pfarrgemeinde in Amberg liegt in der bayerischen Diözese Regensburg. Die an der Südseite des Marktplatzes gelegene Kirche wurde ab 1421 im spätgotischen Stil als dreischiffige Hallenkirche mit einem gemeinsamen Dach errichtet. Ein Kranz von 19 Kapellen umgibt die Kirche, die durch eine gemeinsame Empore nach oben abgeschlossen werden. Die Bauform von St, Martin diente als Vorbild für viele Kirchen im sächsischen Baugebiet.

Nach Schäden durch Beschuss im Spanischen Erbfolgekrieg 1703 – dabei gingen auch die alten Glasfenster zu Bruch – erhielt die Kirche eine kostbare Barockausstattung. Die heutigen Glasfenster sowie die neugotische Ausstattung stammen von einer Restaurierung Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. Seit 2003 läuft eine umfassende Renovierung; der Dachstuhl und das Dach wurden 2009 fertiggestellt, Fundament und Turm 2017.

Project Details

Kategorien: